Questions or Concerns?
Contact CoSA at

General references

Federal Government-FEMA

  • Comprehensive Preparedness Guide 101 (CPG 101), Version 2.0 : Developing and Maintaining Emergency Operations Plans (November 2010)
    Comprehensive Preparedness Guide (CPG) 101 provides Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) guidance on the fundamentals of planning and developing emergency operations plans (EOP). CPG 101 shows that EOPs are connected to planning efforts in the areas of prevention, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation. Version 2.0 of this Guide expands on these fundamentals and encourages emergency and homeland security managers to engage the whole community in addressing all risks that might impact their jurisdictions. While CPG 101 maintains its link to previous guidance, it also reflects the reality of the current operational planning environment. This Guide integrates key concepts from national preparedness policies and doctrines, as well as lessons learned from disasters, major incidents, national assessments, and grant programs.
  • Continuity Assistance Tool (CAT) (July 2009)
    This Continuity Assistance Tool (CAT) provides guidance and assistance for States, Territories, Tribal, and Local Government Jurisdictions and Private Sector Organizations to identify continuity program strengths and areas for improvement.
  • Continuity Guidance Circular 1 (CGC 1) : Continuity Guidance for Non-Federal Entities (States, Territories, Tribal, and Local Government Jurisdictions and Private Sector Organizations) (January 21, 2009)
    Federal Emergency Management Agency. January 21, 2009. Provides guidance for developing continuity plans and programs for states, territories, tribes, and local government jurisdictions.
  • Continuity of Operations: An Overview (brochure)
    FEMA brochure defines Continuty of Operations (COOP), describes the goals of continuity, outlines the elements of a viable continuity capability, lays out the four phases of COOP activation, describes when COOP may be activated, and points to sources for learning more about COOP.
  • Federal Continuity Directive 1 (FCD 1) : Federal Executive Branch National Continuity Program and Requirements (February 2008)
    Federal Continuity Directive 1 (FCD 1) (PDF 2MB, TXT 211KB), Federal Executive Branch National Continuity Program and Requirements, approved by the Secretary of Homeland Security in February 2008, provides operational direction for the development of continuity plans and programs for the Federal Executive Branch. This directive supersedes Federal Preparedness Circular 65 and was developed by NCP’s Continuity of Operations Division in coordination with its interagency partners. FCD 1 describes the key elements of a viable continuity capability and the importance of coordinating with non-Federal organizations to establish and maintain a comprehensive and effective national continuity capability. Continuity programs and operations are simply good business practices that ensure government functions and services will be available to our nation’s citizens under all conditions.
  • Federal Continuity Directive 2 (FCD 2) : Federal Executive Branch Mission Essential Function and Primary Mission Essential Function Identification and Submission Process (February 2008)
    Federal Continuity Directive 2 (FCD 2) (PDF 1MB, TXT 81KB), Federal Executive Branch Mission Essential Function and Primary Mission Essential Function Identification, approved by the DHS Secretary in February 2008, provides direction and guidance for Federal organizations to identify their essential functions and the business process analysis (BPA) and business impact analysis (BIA) that support and identify the relationships between these essential functions. FCD 2 provides implementation guidelines for the requirements identified in FCD 1, Annex C. It provides direction and guidance to Federal entities for identification of their mission essential functions (MEFs) and potential primary mission essential functions (PMEFs). It also includes checklists to assist in identifying essential functions through a risk management process and identify potential PMEFs that support specific national essential functions (NEFs)—the most critical functions necessary for leading and sustaining our nat
  • FEMA Acronyms, Abbreviations, and Terms
    The FAAT List is a handy reference for the myriad of acronyms and abbreviations used within the federal government, emergency management and first response communities. This year's new edition, which continues to reflect the evolving U.S. Department of Homeland Security, contains an approximately 50 percent increase in the number of entries and definitions bringing the total to over 6,200 acronyms, abbreviations and terms. Some items listed are obsolete, but they are included because they may still appear in publications and correspondence. Obsolete items can be found at the end of this document.



Get Adobe Reader


The CoSA Resource Center provides state-specific information in support of CoSA's FEMA-funded Intergovernmental Preparedness for Essential Records (IPER) courses - Essential Records and Records Emergency Planning and Response. The Resource Center continues and significantly expands the capabilities of the one initiated by CoSA in response to a call for a web-based information center emanating from the National Forum on Continuing Education (NFACE) in 2000. Development and expansion of the Resource Center has been supported by funds from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (Cooperative Agreement Number 2007-GT-T7-K022) and the National Historial Publications and Records Comission.

Questions or Concerns?

Click here to Contact CoSA

Mailing List

© 2014 Council of State Archivists.
All rights reserved.
Web Application by Informatics, Inc. BLUE